In today's fast-paced world, people naturally find themselves connected to their smartphones everywhere they go - even in the car. This is not so much a problem for car passengers, but it is a major problem for drivers who have trouble resisting the urge to check out that latest text or take a call. Unfortunately, even if you are the safest of drivers, should you encounter a distracted driver on the roadway, you could be at high risk of an accident or even a fatal crash.
If you or a loved one was a victim to an incident caused by a driver who may have been distracted, you could be wondering if you have the necessary grounds to file a civil suit. Multiple laws have been enacted against distracted driving in the state of Louisiana, and an experienced attorney can carefully review all the aspects of your case to determine if another party was at fault.
What Louisiana law says about cellphones
According to state law, people with learners' permits or intermediate licenses can use only hands-free cellphones. The only exception is when there is a true emergency. The failure to use a hands-free device might not be the primary reason for a new driver to be stopped, but it is considered a moving violation. The fine for a first offense is $175 maximum, with any subsequent violations resulting in fines of up to $500. If a crash happens, these fines could be doubled.
Any driver under 17 cannot legally use a cellphone to receive or send calls or texts while operating a vehicle, except in certain emergencies. This is considered a primary offense, with the maximum fine being $100 for a first offense, $200 for any subsequent offenses and double in the event of a crash.
What does Louisiana law say about texting?
In Louisiana, nobody is permitted to text and drive. This primary offense is punishable by a fine of $175 and a fine of $500 for any subsequent violation. However, texting is allowed during emergencies, and the use of a global positioning system is permitted.
Obtaining evidence of the person's cellphone text or call that contributed to an accident could be critical toward your ultimate goal of receiving the maximum amount of compensation to which you are entitled. A knowledgeable personal injury attorney will work diligently to determine if your accident was caused by a distracted driver. Having this support by your side could provide you with much-needed peace of mind and significantly increase your odds of being awarded damages to cover many of the unfortunate expenses you are encountering.