Every year, close to one-third of traffic deaths are attributed to an impaired driver. Of those drunk driving accidents, more than half reportedly involved a driver whose BAC exceeded the legal limits. Louisiana families have experienced their share of these tragic wrecks.
In an effort to prevent these avoidable wrecks, the states often work in tandem with the Governors Highway Safety Association to highlight the dangers posed by intoxicated driving. Several times during the year, these efforts are increased through the Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign. During these designated times, states increase the presence of police and work to set up checkpoints in many locations in an effort to prevent a driver from causing an accident due to alcohol consumption.
Many motorists who have been caught driving under the influence go on to repeat this behavior. One tool that can be implemented to prevent this is the use of an ignition lock on the vehicles belonging to these drivers. These tools measure the breath of the operator before the ignition can be engaged. All states have access to these types of programs, though not all mandate the devices at this time.
At this time, every state except one has the same legal limit of .08 percent for legally impaired driving and Utah will set the limit at .05 percent by December of 2018. Louisiana has its own laws that govern the punishments handed down for those who are caught driving under the influence or causing drunk driving accidents. Families who have suffered injuries or lost a loved one through these tragedies may also decide to consult with a personal injury attorney in order to seek just compensation for the monetary losses they likely have sustained through medical bills, lost wages and related costs.
Source: ghsa.com, "Alcohol Impaired Driving", Accessed on June 9, 2017